Texas License To Carry (LTC) – Formerly Concealed Handgun License (CHL)
This course is the state required prerequisite for applying for a new Texas License To Carry (LTC) – formerly Concealed Handgun License (CHL). The course includes classroom coverage of the LTC laws, the required shooting test in our convenient indoor range, and all of the required paperwork. This is a 4-hour training course as required by state law (4 hours does not include time on the range or any breaks we take. It will be between 5 and 6 hours total). This course does NOT teach you how to shoot.
Texas LTC Training Course Fee Includes:
- 4-hour classroom instruction (4 hours does not include time on the range or any breaks we take. It will be between 5 and 6 hours total)
- Range qualification & Range fee
- Indoor Climate-Controlled Range
- B-27 Target
- Certificate of Completion (Form LTC-100)
Tuition Does Not Include:
- Fingerprints; Follow the instructions at the end of the application process for the fingerprint process
- Passport Photos (no longer required if you request on your application that your current Texas drivers’ license photo be used)
- Ammunition (50 Rounds Minimum)
- State of Texas LTC Application Fees
- Handgun rental, unless otherwise listed in a special class. If needed, handguns may be rented at the range. Rental handgun requires range-provided ammunition. Please get here a little early if you need to rent a gun so you have time to pick one out.
Information about the class
Following is a summary to give you an idea of what to expect on the day of class.
You will be informed of the time you need to arrive on the day of your LTC class. Please arrive promptly and someone will be there to show you the classroom, restrooms and, most importantly, the coffee/snack area. The range address is 491 W. Valley Ridge Blvd, Lewisville, TX 75057. Please be aware traffic on I-35 is horrible and be sure you give yourself plenty of travel time.
If you have chosen one of our morning classes, will have the coffee brewing for all those who need it! Please keep all firearms UNLOADED and put away in some type of case. We will not be touching these until we are safely in the shooting range area.
The State of Texas mandates this class to last 4 hours not including the time for the qualification or any breaks we take so the total time will be 5-6 hours. For your comfort and convenience, we have vending machines with water, cold drinks and snacks, but you are welcome to bring your own if you like. We will not be stopping for a formal lunch break. This is a very relaxed environment and the instructor promises to take plenty of short breaks throughout the day.
You will need at least 50 rounds of ammunition and a firearm of at least .32 caliber or greater. We recommend you bring 100 rounds just to be on the safe side. If you don’t have your own pistol, there will be firearms at the range you may rent for $5. However, keep in mind you will need to purchase the ammo from the range for those guns.
Also, please bring your own eye and ear protection if you have them. If not, you may purchase a set at the range for about $5 or we have several nicer sets to choose from.
As for the qualification itself, if you have any worries about being able to shoot well enough to pass, put them aside. You will do just fine and have a great time doing it! We’ve had students in the past who had very limited exposure to firearms and they still easily met the state’s standards. (Just remember, like anything else it’s your responsibility to keep practicing after you get your LTC!) Once the class is over, your instructor will present you with your LTC-100 Certificates of Completion. This is the form that shows you have taken the class, passed the qualification and the written test. Mail it in with the various other paperwork, then sit back and wait for the mailman to bring you your license.
One thing you can do to get the ball rolling a little quicker is to start the online application process now with the Department of Public Safety. Once that is complete, there will be a link to setup your fingerprint appointment. Please follow the instructions. You don’t have to do this before the class, so it’s completely up to you. If you do choose this option, then just click on the following link and follow the step-by-step instructions.
We hope we have answered some of the questions you may have had. Please don’t hesitate to email us if you have more. firstname.lastname@example.org
Please remember to bring your driver’s license or ID card.
Do I have to bring my own handgun? How about ammunition?
No, you do not have to bring your own firearm to the class. There will be pistols at the range you may rent for $5, plus the cost of ammunition. Although there is no requirement, we do strongly suggest that you qualify with the handgun you intend to carry.
Does it matter if I bring a revolver or semi-automatic handgun to qualify?
No, it does not matter. As of September 1, 2013 the have eliminated the restrictions that applied to qualifying with a revolver. Now you can qualify with either a revolver or semi-automatic handgun. You can carry either type of handgun no matter which type you used to qualify. The handgun you use to qualify needs to be a minimum .32 caliber. You cannot use any optical enhancers (like lasers or red dot sights).
How difficult is the shooting qualification?
It is actually not difficult at all. The legislature did not enact this law or design it in such a manner as to prohibit an ordinary, safety conscious, responsible citizen from being able to successfully meet the requirements.
Shooting the qualification is the high point of the day. Everyone will have a “blast” and safety will be paramount.
How long does the class last?
The law requires the course to consist of 4 hours of classroom instruction and this does not include time on the range or any time we take for breaks so it will be 5-6 hours total.
If you have further questions, please send them to email@example.com
and we will answer them as soon as possible.
Thanks for giving us this great opportunity,
Eagle Gun Range Staff